Min Maxing in BG?

Min Maxing in BG?

Postby Troy » 13 Jul 2017

Confession time:

I hate min-maxing. I don't play collectible card games anymore (played the first two years of MTG - dumped it as I grew to dislike the killer-combo maxing the game encouraged).

I loved other war games that ended in "hammer" -but gave them up when the rules kept going for killer character/spell/weapon/item combos.

So, what are the killer combos in BattleGroup?

I'm still learning rules, and haven't done a very deep dive into the various battle books. So I'm not even sure how to approach min-maxing in this game.

Does one just take a lot of units that can suppression fire and try to pin other units?

Is there even such a concept in list building for Battle Group as min-maxing?

So far I haven't seen how one would min/max. But, you know there's always someone who's keyed into the meta of a game better than anyone else. :grin:
Troy
Donald 'RED' Grant

Re: Min Maxing in BG?

Postby wargameroz » 13 Jul 2017

Don't even know what you mean, but these are for real games and beat the crap out of those other horrors you mentioned. You should take the time to read the information in the books and try to understand, otherwise you might be better off with FoW or Bolt Action (shudder) until you mature a bit
he who dies with the largest pile of unpainted figures wins
wargameroz
Goldfinger

Medals: 8
Recce campaigner (1) Green Campaigner (1) AntiTank Campaigner (1) Easter14 Campaigner (1) 2013 Build (1) 2014 build (1)
2015 build campaigner (1) 2016 build campaigner (1)

LOL...

I just put FoW behind me because of their new cards of doom and broken conversion stats for the old books.
Troy
Donald 'RED' Grant

Postby Piers » 13 Jul 2017

Jeez... take it easy Simon... say what you really think! :blackeye:

Troy,

You haven't seen how you can 'min-max' in Battlegroup, cos you cant really. The list dont really let you and the scenarios can punish it, as will the game and a sensible opponent.